Formed in 1994, the band’s original lineup boasted former Dead Ideas guitarist Nemanja “Kojot” Kojić (guitar, backing vocals), who also juggled roles as a trombonist in Del Arno Band and a bass guitarist in Sunshine. Joining him were Nenad Živić (vocals), Aleksandar “Alek” Petrović (drums) from Bloodbath, Vladimir “Laza” Lazić (bass guitar) formerly of Urgh!, and Aleksandar “Gile” Radulović. They adopted the name Eyesburn as a playful critique of Serbian TV programs notorious for “burning the eyes.”

Their debut album, Freedomized, was captured live at Belgrade’s KST club. During this phase, Eyesburn primarily graced Belgrade stages, occasionally venturing beyond to perform elsewhere in Serbia. Simultaneously, they commenced work on their maiden studio release, Dog Life. However, just weeks before studio recording, vocalist Živić departed, prompting Kojić to step into the lead vocalist role. Dog Life featured original English-language compositions alongside a cover of Bob Marley & The Wailers’ “Exodus,” with Del Arno Band’s Jovan Matić making a guest appearance.

In tandem, Kojić embraced trombone duties, and the band embarked on sonic explorations into diverse genres like reggae, dub, and drum & bass. Their rendition of Haustor’s “Šejn” appeared on the compilation Korak Napred 2 Koraka Nazad. Shortly thereafter, Eyesburn unleashed their sophomore effort, Fool Control, introducing new guitarist Ninoslav “Nino” Filipović. Produced by Saša Janković, the album showcased tracks like “No Free Time,” “Foolin’ I & I,” and “Warning Dub,” melding elements of modern rock, metal, and breakbeat reggae.


In 2001, “Fool Control” and the track “Rizlu imaš, ličnu kartu nemaš” were included on the soundtrack for the film Munje!, wherein the band made an appearance as a club band. Riding on the wave of their increasing popularity, they were invited to participate in pre-election tours “IT’S TIME” and “USE IT (your brain)”. This propelled them into performing across former Yugoslav republics, solidifying their status as one of the most active bands in Serbia. Throughout 2001 and 2002, Eyesburn graced the stages of the EXIT festival in Novi Sad.

Towards the end of 2001, the band unveiled their CD Gabau!, boasting eight tracks, two of which – “No Free Time” and “Foolin’ I & I” – were recorded live in Belgrade on June 22, 2001. Notable guests on the album included Disciplin A Kitschme drummer Will Parker, percussionist Leša, and Kanda, Kodža i Nebojša vocalist Oliver Nektarijević. In 2002, in collaboration with Jamaican dub poet Ank Steadyspear, Eyesburn crafted the album Cool Fire – Eyesburn meets Ank Steadyspear. The unique recording process involved Ank Steadyspear sending pre-recorded vocal sections via the Internet, over which the band layered their music. The band also performed live with Ank Steadyspear as an opening act for Lee Scratch Perry.

The year 2003 saw the release of the album Solid, produced by Saša Janković, which veered towards a more hardcore punk-oriented sound compared to their previous work. Their escalating renown garnered an invitation from Max Cavalera to collaborate on the song “Moses” for the Soulfly album Prophecy and to join the 2004 Prophecy Europe Tour. Kojić also contributed to the Soulfly album Dark Ages, featuring on the track “Innerspirit”.

In March 2005, the band underwent a lineup change as Lazić and Filipović departed, leading to the recording of the new album by a revamped lineup consisting of Kojić, Dalibor Vučić (bass, clarinet), Aleksandar Petrović, Vukašin Marković (trombone), and Dušan Petrović (baritone saxophone). Titled How Much for Freedom?, the album, produced by Boban Mulunović and recorded in the Novi Sad M Studio and Zemun Cameleon Studio, included a cover version of Bob Marley & The Wailers’ “So Much Trouble In The World”. Released under the PGP-RTS record label in Serbia and Austria, the album marked a significant milestone before the band entered a hiatus, with Kojić pursuing a solo career.


In the spring of 2011, the band regrouped with the lineup comprising Aleksandar Petrović “Alek” (drums), Vladimir Lazić “Laza” (bass), Nemanja Kojić “Kojot” (vocals, trombon), Dušan Petrović (saxophone), Aleksandar Nikić “Lale” (guitar), Zoran Đuroski “Đura” (guitar), and Vukašin Marković (trombon, backing vocals). The reunited Eyesburn made their comeback performance on June 17, 2011, at Belgrade’s SKC, as part of the Jelen Top 10 Tour.

On September 15, 2012, Eyesburn took the stage at the Warrior’s Dance festival, organized by the British group The Prodigy and the Exit festival, held at Novi Sad’s Petrovaradin fortress.

In July 2013, the band unveiled their seventh studio album, Reality Check. The album, preceded by singles “Sudden Fall” and “Hold This Way,” was produced by Miloš Mihajlović and mastered by Jens Bogren. In December 2015, Eyesburn, with an entirely new lineup, released a single titled “Dream is Over.”

In July 2016, Kojić announced the band’s cessation of activity.


In late 2018, the band announced their reunion with the lineup consisting of Aleksandar Petrović “Alek” (drums), Vladimir Lazić “Laza” (bass), Nemanja Kojić “Kojot” (vocals, trombon), and Aleksandar Nikić “Lale” (guitar).

In late 2020, the band commemorated the 20th anniversary of their album by releasing Fool Control on vinyl, remastered by Luka Matković in Citadela Studio. In July 2021, Eyesburn participated in a recording session for Balkanrock Sessions, where they recorded five songs and shared intriguing insights into their musical journey. Subsequently, in September 2021, Eyesburn received their first official tribute release titled Only We Can Solve This Problem, featuring cover versions of their tracks by Serbian bands like Discord, Downstroy, Brat, Quasarborn, Senshi, etc. The online edition was published by Serbian Metal Portal.

Their sixth full-length studio album, titled Troops of Light, was released on Mascom Records in July 2022. The track “Aware (Bam Bam)” was selected as the first (video) single. Additionally, to mark 20 years since the original release of Solid, the same label reissued it for the first time on LP in March 2023.